Butler County Probate Court Header Image

  Butler County Probate Court


Marriage License Instructions


The fee for obtaining a marriage license is $45.00, payable in cash only.

NOTICE: Beginning January 2, 2019 the fee for obtaining marriage license will increase to $45.00 CASH ONLY


All males and females age eighteen years or older, not nearer of kin than second cousins, and not having a husband or wife living, may apply for a marriage license.


All applicants under the ages of eighteen years must have a letter from their minister or a marriage counselor stating that they have received marriage counseling. If the male applicant is under eighteen years or if the female applicant is under sixteen years, they must have the consent of the Juvenile Court. Juvenile Court will only grant consent providing the female is pregnant or has given birth to an illegitimate child fathered by the prospective groom. A minor must first obtain the consent of his/her parents, surviving parent, the parent who has custody, their legal guardian, or any other person having custody under Ohio Law 3101.01 O.R.C.


The applicants must supply to the Court their current address, their current age, their birth date, place of birth, the name of their father and the maiden name of their mother, their Social Security number. If one or both of the parties have been divorced, a copy of the last divorce decree must be submitted to the Probate Court at the time of application. All applicants must present a U.S. or State Government issued photo I.D. (For example: Driver?s License, State I.D., Passport or Visa).


No license will be issued if either applicant is a habitual drunkard, imbecile or insane, or is under the influence of intoxicating liquor or narcotic drug, or is infected with syphilis that is communicable, or likely to become so.


One or both of the applicants must be a resident of Butler County for a marriage license to be issued in Butler County. They are valid anywhere in the State of Ohio. If the applicants are both out of state residents, they will need to apply for the marriage license in the county in which they are to be married. Out of state residents may only be married in the county in which they apply for a license.


No longer required.


An ordained or licensed minister of any religious society or congregation within this state licensed to perform marriages, a judge of a county court in his county, an authorized judge of a municipal court, the mayor of a municipal corporation in any county in which such municipal corporation wholly or partly lies, the superintendent of the state school for the deaf, or any religious society, in conformity with the rules and regulations of its church.


In Butler County there is no waiting period between the date of application and the marriage. They are valid for 60 days.


Traditionally, the bride takes the last name of her husband, although it is not necessary or mandatory that she do so. However, if she does, it is the newlywed?s responsibility to see that the appropriate agencies are notified. This includes among others, businesses and stores with whom she has credit accounts, banks where she has checking and savings accounts, the Social Security Administration, and the Bureau of Motor Vehicles to see that her drivers license is changed.


All applicants must check their license prior to leaving the Court in order to ascertain that all of the information is correct and that no errors have been made

If you have further questions, you may contact the Marriage License Bureau at 887-3299.

The marriage application in both english and spanish is available on this web site. The form can be filled out on-line, printed and brought to the Court.

Contact Us



 Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 4:30pm

 Marriage License: 8:00am - 4:00pm

  • Marriage Lic.-must arrive by 3:30pm

 Butler County Court House

  • 101 High Street Hamilton, OH 45011

Butler County Probate Court: Historic Butler County Courthouse - 101 High Street Hamilton, OH 45011    | Main Phone:  513-887-3294

Site Policy